David Williams Takes the World Poker Tour Crown


April 26, 2010 by · Leave a Comment 

Bodog pro David Williams finished an impressive run which lead to the crown at the World Poker Tour Championship on Saturday. Held at the Bellagio in Las Vegas, the pinnacle of the WPT made Williams $1.5 million richer in his conquest, while UB.com pro Eric “basebaldy” Baldwin finished second and pocketed over $1 million for his effort.

Williams was steady throughout the tournament, staying within striking range as the leaders came and went. Early leader and WPT Player of the Year Faraz Jaka fell after Day 4 and Day 5 leader John O’Shea was the first victim at the final table, leaving Williams to battle Baldwin, Shawn Buchanan, David Benyamine and Billy Baxter for the title.

When it all came down, Williams was to face Baldwin heads up with the WPT Championship awaiting the victor. After a furious, 135-hand struggle, Baldwin went all in pre-flop with his Ah 5h, only to be called by Williams, who held ducks. After a flop of A-7-6 put Baldwin in the lead, a 2 came on the turn, giving Williams a lead that he wouldn’t relinquish. The river came up empty for both, meaning Williams would hold a title that he clearly coveted.

When asked how this compared to his WSoP bracelet, Williams said, “My bracelet? That’s nothing compared to this. That was a $1,500 buy-in Stud event. It was cool to have a bracelet, but this is a WPT Championship.” He continued by saying, “It’s been a long time coming. There’s a core group of us; Nenad Medic, Michael Mizrachi, Tuan Le, Joe Cassidy, and I. Nenad, Grinder, Tuan, and Phil Ivey all had one and it feels good to get one.”

Saturday’s action concluded an exciting tournament, with the final table results shaping up like this:

1st Place: David Williams – $1,530,537
2nd Place: Eric “basebaldy” Baldwin – $1,034,715
3rd Place: Shawn Buchanan – $587,906
4th Place: David Benyamine – $329,228
5th Place: Billy Baxter – $246,921
6th Place: John O’Shea – $199,888

Shawn Buchanan’s elimination also signaled the crowning of Faraz Jaka as the WPT Player of the Year. Buchanan was the last player with a chance to catch Jaka, but his third place finish knocked him out of contention.

Help PokerRoomReview.com maintain the best, most accurate and up-to-date poker site reviews, ratings, news and information. Feedback from real players is extremely important and always appreciated. So, please take a minute and share your thoughts with us in the comment box below. Thanks for your help!


Enter your comments below ...