2008 WSOP Final Table Set

PPA Board Member Creates The Leach List
July 11, 2008
PokerStars Players Dominate the 2008 WSOP
July 18, 2008

In the wee hours Tuesday morning, Dean Hamrick was eliminated in 10th spot and suddenly the 2008 World Series of Poker (WSOP) Main Event was put on pause. The remaining nine players will now have to wait until November 9 to return to the Rio in Las Vegas to continue chasing down the World Championship and the first place prize of $9.1 million.

The finalists are a diverse group of players that include no fewer than four countries including a Russian, a Dane, two Canadians and five Americans. There’s also a chess player, a salesmen, a college student as well the usual collection of professional poker players.

But it’s the salesman, Dennis Phillips who will carry the chip lead for 117 days until they resume play. Phillips, who plays tournaments at his local casino 3-4 nights per week, ended the night with 26,295,000 which is good enough to put him 1,895,000 ahead of Russia’s, Ivan Demidov who finished with 24,400,000.

Here are the official chip counts and seating assignments for the November event:

Seat 1: Dennis Phillips – 26,295,000
Seat 2: Craig Marquis – 10,210,000
Seat 3: Ylon Schwartz – 12,525,000
Seat 4: Scott Montgomery – 19,690,000
Seat 5: Darus Suharto – 12,520,000
Seat 6: Chino Rheem – 10,230,000
Seat 7: Ivan Demidov – 24,400,000
Seat 8: Kelly Kim – 2,620,000
Seat 9: Peter Eastgate – 18,375,000

So much for the year of the pro.

Tiffany Michelle, the obvious crowd favorite, exited the Main Event in 17th place, the deepest a woman has finished since the year 2000, earning $334,534 for her admirable efforts.